Preparing for the Journey

Hello, dear readers!  This blog will be for me to share my experiences and reflections while on a once in a lifetime trip to tour Auschwitz with Holocaust survivor, Eva Kor.  I hope to blog each day in order to keep track of everything we are seeing and experiencing in Poland, and what we are learning each day.

How does one prepare to go to Auschwitz?  Honestly, I’m not really sure.  I’ve read a lot of books, I’ve read Eva’s story, I’ve watched her film, I’ve learned some about Polish history, language, and culture, but emotionally, I’m not sure that anyone can ever really prepare to go to Auschwitz.  I’ve known about this trip for several years, and as soon as I heard about it, I knew that I wanted to go.  Unfortunately, things just didn’t work out until now.  And even then, I had to back out of being in a friend’s wedding in order to go, but I felt that I just couldn’t put it off any longer, and that this would be a once in a lifetime opportunity.

I am traveling to Poland with a group from the CANDLES museum in Terre Haute, IN.  I served a church in Terre Haute for 4 years, and during that time, became familiar with the museum and Eva Kor.  When I heard she takes groups over to Auschwitz, I knew I wanted to go.  Ever since, I have kept up with the museum and the trips, and here I am, just a few weeks from the trip.  We leave June 21.

Check back often- I look forward to sharing my journey with each of you.

Kor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

